Article

I began my search for an article by browsing through countless news websites, having no luck the first time I gave up and tried again the next day. With still no luck in finding an article that I was really interested in as well as having visual ideas for my image I decided I needed to think outside the box, more so into my everyday life. My inspiration came when I was at work on a Sunday afternoon and a young child came in to the store wearing head-to-toe branded clothing. He pulled out a wad of cash and told me how his parents gave him cash every weekend when he wanted to go to the mall. He then proceeded to tell me how his father had just shouted a round of iPhone 6s for the whole family (this boy being 12 years old). If I was not familiar with the family and their constant shopping sprees in my store I would never have believed this young boy’s stories. Spoilt/overindulged children are becoming very apparent in society today and this is creating a new generation of kids who lack boundaries and basically, have everything handed to them on a plate.

This is my chosen article that effectively portrays and highlights the rising problem of spoilt children in the world today.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/education/educationnews/9187167/Middle-class-children-are-being-turned-into-spoilt-little-Buddhas.html 

Basic statistics: Overindulgence Today by the Numbers

  • A 2001 Time/CNN poll found the following[2]:
  1. Are children today more or less spoiled that children 10 or 15 years ago? 80% more.
  2. Are your own children spoiled or not spoiled? 68% very/somewhat spoiled.
  3. Do children today have to do fewer or more chores? 75% fewer

If you would like some extra reading and an example of the extremity of the issue, have a read of this: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1205122/At-just-11-Brogan-SPOILT-child-Britain.html Helpful websites: http://overindulgence.info/AreChildrenMoreOverindulgedToday.htm http://www.livestrong.com/article/514405-long-term-effects-of-spoiling-children/

4 comments

  1. Im glad you finally found something that interests you and an article completely relevant to your idea. Im sure now, that you have an interest in this article, you will do a good job as long as you put your mind to it and keep developing it! look forward to seeing what you come up with! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

